Enjoy Extra $4 OFF $39, $6 OFF $49 and  $9 OFF $59 for editors fall picks 2017 at Zaful.com! Ends: 10/31/2017

News flash. Bold patterned floors are officially a thing! And like any trend that feeds my maximalist tendencies, I’m all over it. Just when we have got our heads around patterned wallpaper going on all four walls (the death of the feature wall has been sealed), so the pattern moves onto the floor. A bold patterned floor can be a great way to add impact, a pop of colour or pattern as well as making your home stand out in the style stakes. So here I share how to make your floors shout with style.

Pattern clashing

Say patterned carpet and it conjures up pub floors, seventies suburban semi’s and outdated hotel lobbies. But time to get some fresh eyes around the subject as fitted patterned carpet. The successful Quirky B collection by Alternative Flooring features collaborations with renowned British designers and among my favourite are the classic Liberty prints re-imagined in flooring – the Felix Raison classic carpet, shown above, looks fab teamed with modern furniture and clashes against floral prints, fully embracing the current passion for maximalist interiors.

Making an entrance

The hallway is an ideal place to think about a pattern. On a practical front the bold design hides a multitude of marks and scuffs – but for dipping your toe in pattern, its the perfect place to experiment. The hallway is a transient area so you won’t be staring at it for too long but what a cheery and fabulous welcome it gives you every time you open the front door or move from room to room.

The Audrey stripe in Sunrise by Crucial Trading

Golden Effie, Brintons

Contemporary surface and textile design duo Timorous Beasties has joined forces with carpet giant Brintons once again to add to the existing collection. In true Timorous style, the new designs defy convention and carpet rules by being large scale yet beautifully detailed. When choosing a patterned floor go for simple furniture and in the bedroom, plain yet complementing bed linen – allowing the colour and pattern of the carpet to stand out.

Tiled floors
Interior designer Sophie Robinson explains how a patterned floor can introduce colour and style to your home. The diagonal stripe effect created by cement tiles works extremely well with plain white kitchen cupboards. #sophierobinson #tiledfloor #patternedfloor

Magic Triangle Yellow Encaustic Cement Tile by Otto Tiles & Design

There’s something about tiles that I find other surfaces cannot match for adding colour, texture and pattern and my love for cement tiles continues to grow. There are now so many choices out there it’s one trend that I don’t see going anywhere just yet!  

My hallway photographed by Alun Callender

As many of you may have seen I recently decked out my hallway in the gorgeous Old Havanna Bauta by Claybrook Studio.

I found them after extensively researching a design that would compliment my wall colour – the bold and beautiful Lazuli by Zoffany and I have to say I am more than delighted the end result as I really wanted a dramatic entrance. You can check out my blog post on Cement tiles here for hints and tips – they are quite a labour of love!

Bert & May’s new Sage Sprout Tile

The name Bert & May has become synonymous with a beautifully raw yet refined style that continues to capture everyone’s attention. Their latest offering is an Organic collection which uses natural pigments and handmade processes and was inspired by reclaimed finds and the natural green colour palette of Spring.

Vinyl

Vinyl can evoke many a scheme from the 70s & 80s and the pre-conception that it will look cheap and plastically.  As with patterned carpets, vinyl has come a long way too! It offers versatility and variety and not to mention – easy to clean. Just ask my Great Indoors partner in crime Kate Watson-Smyth, she never thought she would opt for a vinyl floor but that’s exactly what she has in her recently renovated downstairs loo and she is very pleasantly surprised!

Of course I would love this cobalt kitchen! Dovetail vinyl tiles in Oxford Blue by Neisha Crosland at Harvey Maria

Bolon has taken vinyl flooring to a whole new level with their twisted designs. Despite their innovative and contemporary design, they still have traditional values – the environment being one of them. The family-run business developed its own additive made from completely renewable, raw plant materials, and for the last few years, all of their flooring is 100% phthalate free. So with all the technical stuff noted, the designs are truly cutting-edge, in a variety of colours and patterns and can be customised – so you can create your own patterned floor!

Studio tiles, Hexagon green, Bolon

You can’t go wrong with a bit of monochrome. This Gingham design was created using 3 plain tiles by Amtico

Don’t forget the outdoors

Not only did Hayley Stuart create her own striking patio floor she also made this side table and plant stand.

You wouldn’t naturally think of a patterned floor in the garden but if you have the time and patience you can create your own masterpiece. That’s exactly what Hayley Stuart did and can you believe she painstakingly stencilled the whole patio and path! Check out her Instagram feed @iamhayleystuart for more pics of this amazing space and you can see her step by step guide on how she did here.

Flooring directory

CARPETS:

Alternative Flooring alternativeflooring.com

Brintons, brintons.co.uk

Crucial Trading, crucial-trading.com

Fleetwood Fox, leetwoodfox.com

Roger Oates, rogeroates.com

Sinclair Till, sinclairtill.co.uk

Wool Classics, woolclassics.com

TILES

Alhambra Tiles, alhambratiles.co.uk

Claybrook Studio, claybrookstudio.co.uk

Otto Tiles & Design, ottotiles.co.uk

Bert & May, bertandmay.com

Maitland & Poate, maitlandandpoate.com

Lindsey Lang, lindseylang.co.uk

Popham Design, pophamdesign.com 

Smink Things, sminkthings.co.uk

VINYL

Atra Floor, atrafloor.com

Amtico, amtico.com

Bolon, bolon.com

Harvey Maria, harveymaria.com

Feature researched and co written by Lisa Ferdenzi-Rouse

Posted by admin

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *